Course of the Year

Course of the Year

The NEGCOA is very pleased to announce our 2017 NEGCOA Course of the Year -  Willow Brook Golf Course, South Windsor, CT.  The announcement was made at the 2016 Annual Meeting held at Tewksbury Country Club. Jeffrey Beyer, PGA Head Professional, was on-hand to receive the award on behalf of owners Anne and Stafford King.



Willow Brook's application will now be forwarded on for National consideration. The announcement of the national award winners will take place at the Golf Business Conference awards banquet in Orlando in early February.




 Courses are judged on four key areas including: Exceptional Quality of the Course, Exceptional Quality of Ownership and Management, Outstanding Contribution to the Local Community, Significant Contributions to the Game.

Our New England Chapter is so pleased for the PGA Tour Golf Course Properties and the Connell Limited Partnership (located in Boston, MA) for their award.  In reviewing the application, it was evident that the facility offers a championship course that can accommodate a PGA tour event and yet has enough tee options to handle players of all levels.   

The ownership has demonstrated a commitment to giving back to the community.  An excerpt from their application reads:  

The Connell Limited Partnership, our local partner, was founded by the late William Connell, a native of West Lynn, Massachusetts. Mr. Connell, an Irish immigrant bus driver's son, was a prominent businessman and philanthropist in Boston, whom Boston Globe business columnist Steve Bailey once wrote "he made a fortune and gave a fortune away" in appreciation of Mr. Connellís overwhelming philanthropy. Mr. Connell was a golf fanatic who had a dream and vision of bringing a PGA TOUR event back to Massachusetts. The Connell Limited Partnership honors William Connellís legacy by continually supporting charities and institutions in Massachusetts.






Last year the award went to Atkinson Resort and Country Club and they went on to win the NGCOA's 2015 National Golf Course of the Year Award! Here's the video, created by the NGCOA.


To apply for this award, a course must be a member of the NEGCOA (an application link is located on our membership page).  Not currently a member?  Consider joining and today!

    COY Applications for the 2018 Award will be due Friday, August 19, 2017.   The winner will be notified in October and announced at our Annual Meeting in November. Applications must be provided in electronic form - and emailed to Elaine Gebhardt -

Previous Winners

2016 Winner

TPC Boston

Norton, MA

One of 4 Regional Finalists & Nat'l Jemsek Award winner.

Visit Site »

2015 Winner

Atkinson Resort & Country Club

Atkinson, NH

And the National Course of
the Year Winner!

Visit Site »

2014 Winner

Miacomet Golf Club

Nantucket, MA

One of 4 Regional Finalists!

Visit Site »

2013 Winner

Wachusett Country Club

West Boylston, MA

2012 Winner


Haverhill, MA

2011 Winner

Meadow Creek Golf Club

Dracut, MA

2010 Winner

Granite Links Golf Club

Quincy, MA

2009 Winner

The Oaks Golf Links

Somersworth, NH

2007 Winner

Lake Winnipesaukee Golf Club

New Durham, NH

2006 Winner

Red Tail Golf Club

Devens, MA

2005 Winner

Blue Fox Run

Avon, CT

2004 Winner

Blissful Meadows Golf Club

Uxbridge, MA

2003 Winner

The Ranch Golf Club

Southwick, MA

2002 Winner

Juniper Hill Golf Course

Northboro, MA