New England Golf Course Owners Association (NEGCOA)

Back Home

Course of the Year


Congratulations to Swansea Country Club -
our NEGCOA 2022 Course of  the Year
and the NGCOA Jemsek Region 1 Winner!

Last summer, unbeknownst to owners Larry and Hilda Doyle, Robb Martin submitted a Course of the Year application for Swansea Country Club.   Robb felt that the club where he has worked for so many years as the General Manager was worthy of consideration for the award.  The Doyle's were marking a significant milestone of 30 years of ownership and Robb had first hand knowledge of the transformation that the property had undergone in that time.  

The review committee met and voted to give the COY award to Swansea.  Needless to say, Larry Doyle was shocked when I shared the news with him as he was unaware that Robb had submitted the application.  During the 2021 NEGCOA Annual Meeting and Conference at Lake of Isles, it was announced that Swansea Country Club in Swansea, MA was the winner.  Robb Martin was on-hand to accept the award on behalf of the Doyles.  The club went on to be the Jemsek Region 1 finalist for the National honors (falling short of the big win).  You can view their Final 4 video below.    Congratulations to the Doyle Family, Robb Martin, and the entire staff!!!  A well deserved win.




Application deadline set for August 15, 2022! 

It is that time of year to begin working on your nominations for the NGCOA New England Chapter Course of the Year Award for 2023.Take this opportunity to gain significant promotions if your course earns the award- 

  • Recognition within New England
  • Recognition within the Northeast
  • and possible National Recognition


That's is the kind of publicity everyone wants for their club.  Watch your social media explode as members brag about the award.  

Clubs MUST be a member of the NEGCOA to apply.  And past winners must wait 7 years prior to applying again.  

Click here for an NEGCOA membership application form or call of our office and we can process it over the phone  -- then you can consider applying next year.

The award recognizes four key components of the facility's operation including: 

  • Exceptional Quality of the Course
  • Exceptional Quality of Ownership and Management
  • Outstanding Contribution to the Local Community
  • Significant Contributions to the Game.


What does an application look like from a National Winner??  

You can see a copy of Atkinson Resort and Country Club's application by clicking here.  

It is important to tell your story.  What makes your facility or your ownership stand out from others?  Do not hold back - tell us what makes you special.  Remember you don't necessarily have to be a powerhouse.  Include great photos to help sell yourself.

To apply for this award, a course must be a member of the NEGCOA (Join today by clicking here!).  Not currently a member?   Consider joining today!

Past winners must wait 7 years before applying again.  

COY application  can be obtained here:    Word Doc   or  .PDF

COY Applications for the 2023 Award are due on Monday, August 15, 2022. The winner will be notified in October and announced at our Annual Meeting in November. Applications must be provided in electronic form - and emailed to Elaine Gebhardt - [email protected].


View our videos of our past winners....... 



In 2015, our chapter winner, 
Atkinson Resort and Country Club, went on to win the NGCOA's 2015 National Golf Course of the Year Award!


Making it to the Final 4 and beyond means that the NGCOA will produce a video to share at the National Awards Dinner.  In recent years, Spring Meadows GC, Old Siasconset GCGreatHorse,  Manchester Country Club Miacomet Golf CourseAtkinson Resort and Country Club, and TPC Boston all made it to the Final 4.  Here are videos of our member clubs.